Page 1 of 1

Starting problem

Posted: Thu Sep 21, 2006 5:31 pm
by trado
I dled java 1.4 from the link provided, and then had to update it to version 1.5.

But when I try to run GMAO.jnlp from my computer, it gives me the error:

"Can't find bundle for base name net/sourceforge/helpgui/languages/i18n, locale en_US"

Any idea what it means?

Posted: Thu Sep 21, 2006 9:41 pm
by FuguTabetai
It is having trouble finding the language file for the help sub-system that I use.

Perhaps I forgot to include the required JAR, but I doubt it.

What operating system are you running on?

I just launched GMAO using Java Web Start on my Mac just fine. I also launched it ok from my windows machine. Could you try it one more time?

Posted: Fri Sep 22, 2006 3:38 am
by trado
I'm using Windows xp. Here's the exception log:

java.util.MissingResourceException: Can't find bundle for base name net/sourceforge/helpgui/languages/i18n, locale en_US
at java.util.ResourceBundle.throwMissingResourceException(Unknown Source)
at java.util.ResourceBundle.getBundleImpl(Unknown Source)
at java.util.ResourceBundle.getBundle(Unknown Source)
at net.sourceforge.helpgui.util.Language.setLocale(Language.java:61)
at net.sourceforge.helpgui.util.Language.<init>(Language.java:55)
at net.sourceforge.helpgui.util.Language.getInstance(Language.java:47)
at net.sourceforge.helpgui.gui.MainFrame.initFrame(MainFrame.java:123)
at net.sourceforge.helpgui.gui.MainFrame.<init>(MainFrame.java:93)
at com.FuguTabetai.GMAO.GMAOHelpFrame.getHelpFrame(GMAOHelpFrame.java:40)
at com.FuguTabetai.GMAO.GMAOGUI.<init>(GMAOGUI.java:398)
at com.FuguTabetai.GMAO.GMAOGUI.main(GMAOGUI.java:2563)
at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke0(Native Method)
at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(Unknown Source)
at sun.reflect.DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.reflect.Method.invoke(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.Launcher.executeApplication(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.Launcher.executeMainClass(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.Launcher.continueLaunch(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.Launcher.handleApplicationDesc(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.Launcher.handleLaunchFile(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.Launcher.run(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source)


Gives me the same error.

Posted: Fri Sep 22, 2006 4:39 pm
by trado
I tried installing just this :
https://sdlc2d.sun.com/ECom/EComActionS ... 0B177C8795

and I got the same problem.

And when I try running the server one, i get the error that it can't find GMAO.jar

Posted: Fri Sep 22, 2006 9:05 pm
by FuguTabetai
I haven't been able to duplicate the problem. I'm looking into it though. That's very strange because that's an internal error with the JHelpGUI library, which is all packaged together. Anyway, I'll search for the source of the problem and report back.

Too bad; I would love to get a few more users. Looks like GMAO still has only one user right now (Onkr, a previous user, seems to have dropped off the face of the Earth.)

Posted: Fri Sep 22, 2006 9:19 pm
by FuguTabetai
trado wrote:I tried installing just this :
https://sdlc2d.sun.com/ECom/EComActionS ... 0B177C8795

and I got the same problem.

And when I try running the server one, i get the error that it can't find GMAO.jar
Ok, that link didn't take me anywhere useful, so I don't know what it was that you installed and tried to run with... :)

As for the Server version, that doesn't do anything useful (it manages a bunch of XML files so you can translate remotely on multiple machines, and the server will save the XML files from the client machines. If the server is on the web, and the XML files are also, that makes it really easy to automatically web-load the latest XML file and save changes to it. I'm the only one that every used it, and haven't been using it lately, so maybe the links aren't set up right for that.)

I know where your problem is happening - in the help gui initialization code. I'll just lazily initialize that, so if you don't call the help system up, you should be fine.

Posted: Sun Sep 24, 2006 3:55 am
by FuguTabetai
I've updated GMAO so that the help system is lazily initialized. As long as you don't use the help system, you can use GMAO.

With this update, I also found that I can now reproduce the problem, so I'll try to actually fix it. I also added a problem where the "What's New" page is totally truncated.

Posted: Mon Sep 25, 2006 5:18 pm
by trado
Ok, it works now, thanks.

Posted: Mon Sep 25, 2006 9:15 pm
by FuguTabetai
glad to hear it is working. Let me know what you think; it is always great to get feedback on this crazy mess of programming.

For whatever reason, I can now reliably get that error when I try to pull up the help too, and the "What's new..." page is totally truncated. I think somehow the JAR is getting truncated in size, and that is bad. It gives me someplace to look for the problem at least though...

Posted: Tue Sep 26, 2006 8:43 pm
by trado
I can't seem to see my text. Whenever I draw a bubble, it has the outline, but you can still see the stuff below, and I changed the bubble color and everything.

Image

Posted: Tue Sep 26, 2006 11:08 pm
by FuguTabetai
Hm, go into the GMAO->Options, "Appearance" tab. Make sure "Annotation Opacity" is at 100.

You can set it on a per-bubble basis with a right click.

Also, you can check "Character Colors" and make sure that the particular character doesn't have the opacity set to 0. If you have text on it, that does show up though, right? Text is always 100% opaque (that is something I have been meaning to make variable as well, but it really isn't all that useful in day-to-day translation.)

Posted: Wed Sep 27, 2006 12:40 am
by trado
Hmm, whatever I did, it works now, though I don't think I changed anything lol. Thanks.